ICTSD’s Governing Board

ICTSD’s Governing Board is its highest decision making body. The Governing Board meets at least once per year and is backed by board committees including an Executive Committee and Audit Committee that provide regular guidance to ICTSD.

The Governing Board reflects a balanced range of experience and perspectives on trade, environment and development issues. Members represent no constituency, serving in a personal capacity for a term of three years which may be extended for a second term at the Board’s discretion.

Governing Board member responsibilities include: fiduciary duties related to the accountability, governance and legal obligations of the Centre; assisting the Centre in identifying and bringing forward best practices in sustainable development as they relate to trade; actively supporting the mission and objectives of the Centre through collaboration, information provision, partnership, fund raising efforts or financial contributions; and giving priority to meeting information and other requests from ICTSD relating to its programme of work.
ICTSD’s current Governing Board includes:


Alicia BARCENA IBARRA - Mexico

Aimée CHRISTENSEN - United States of America

Arunabha GHOSH - India - (Treasurer)


Ricardo MELÉNDEZ-ORTIZ– Colombia

David RUNNALLS - Canada - Chaiperson

Jose Manuel SALAZAR-XIRINACHS Costa Rica

Andrew CROSBY- United States of America - (Secretary)

Distinguished Fellows of the Board

Sylvia OSTRY - Canada

Mark HALLE - United States of America

Previous Governing Board Members

Past Members and Terms

Past Governing Bodies:

Founding Board and Past Governing Bodies (1996-2000)